17 programs of external campuses accredited

Matching the quality education to the main campuses, 17 programs of Negros Oriental State University External Campuses attained level 1 status as disclosed on June 29.

Quality Assurance Management Center Director Cesar Estrope revealed the level 1 accredited programs are from the Mabinay, Guihulngan, and Siaton campuses while three other programs from Mabinay campus will have to be revisited.

This serves as proof that the teaching methods and educational quality of the said campuses is as high as of the main campuses, Estrope added.

Level 1 Status

The accredited level 1 programs of the NORSU Guihulngan campus are the Bachelor of Elementary Education (BEED) majors in Early Childhood Education (ECE) and General Curriculum (GenCur); Bachelor of Secondary Education (BSED) Majors in Technology, Livelihood Education, Math, Filipino, and Social Studies; Bachelor of Science in Business Administration Major in Human Resources Development Management (BSBA-HRDM); Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (BSCS); Bachelor of Science in Criminology (BSCrim); Bachelor of Science on Hospitality Management (BSHM) and Bachelor of Science in Industrial Technology (BSIT) Majors in Automotive, Electrical, Electronics, Computer, and Food Technology.

Meanwhile, BSHM, BS Information Technology (BSInT), BSBA-HRDM, BSCrim, BEED-ECE and GenCur, and BSED-Fil, TLE, Math, and Soc.of Siaton campus acquired the same status.

Although the BSBA-HRDM, BSHM and Bachelor of Science in Agriculture of Mabinay Campus earned a level 1 status, the AACUP will revisit BSIT (Majors in Automotive and Computer Technology), BSCS, and BSCrim programs due to the absence of the library, which is one of the stations needed for accreditation.

To note, the Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities in the Philippines (AACUP) conducted their first formal survey visit to the external campuses last March 14-17.

Upcoming Survey Visit

On the other hand, QUAMC is preparing for an upcoming Survey Visit on August in 14 programs of main campuses 1 and 2.

Bachelor of Science in Information Technology, Business Administration, Pharmacy, Agriculture, Forestry, Electronics and Communications Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Civil Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering are applying for the level 2 status.

Meanwhile, Bachelor of Science in Geothermal Engineering, Bachelor in Agricultural Technology, Master of Arts in Physical Education and Doctor of Philosophy Major in Math Education are to undergo Preliminary Survey Visit.

By: Kenneth Carlorio Surilla

The NORSUnian Vol XXXIV Issue 6

July 11 – 15, 2016